Are You Literate?

Literacy_tree

Literacy can be narrowly defined as the ability to read and write. Evidently, on the flip side, the inability to read and write would deem you illiterate. Moving forward in life, this definition has become blurred and complicated. Now the term “literate” can be applied to almost any situation, subject or topic.

You can be:

  • Technology Literate
  • Eco Literate
  • Politically Literate
  • Visually Literate
  • Physically Literate

And the list goes on and on and on.

Literacy in the new sense of the term, basically means being able to comprehend and understand a certain subject area. To dig deeper, I would consider myself eco literate, equine literate, physically literate, and the basic sense of literate. I am surely other forms of literate that I am not aware of at this point. Eco literacy refers to my ability to understand that natural systems of the earth as well as to be a sustainable human being. Equine literacy to me means that I understand horses and the language and terminology that goes along with being an equestrian. Physically literate refers to the ability to know how to keep my body active and practice healthy physical fitness. And I evidently can read and write… hence this blog post.

In contrast, I am also very illiterate in many areas. I may be equine literate but I am extremely illiterate when it comes to the cattle industry. I can’t even tell the difference between a heifer, cow, steer or bull. What are they even? I am illiterate in terms or medical literacy, hockey literacy, and the list goes on and on and on.

With all of that being said, can anyone be considered completely literate anymore? You can always continue to further your literacy. In reality, you are illiterate.

Leave a Reply

