Trouble Choosing the Best Technology Tool for your Classroom?

This blog post by EdSurge exemplifies my feelings exactly regarding the topic of technology in the classroom. With the infinite number of technological classroom tools available, how are teachers supposed to navigate and know which tools are appropriate and worth incorporating into their classroom. New teachers as well as experienced teachers could potentially spend too much of their time researching valuable classroom tools to incorporate and then end up choosing to use technology that wasn’t the most appropriate for the lesson that they were intending. It is overwhelming and offsetting in my opinion. This aspect could make me feel inadequate and force me to stray away from using technology altogether.

This post explains this feeling that I have regarding technological tools in a very self-explanatory way. To go beyond this, it also lays out resources for teachers to quickly and efficiently peruse for the technological tools that will prove the most useful for their classroom and subject.

For example, The EdSurge Product Index categorizes online tools by grade level, category, and learner’s needs. Each tool that is suggested has a critique about the product and outlines the strengths and weaknesses to better help you choose the appropriate tools for you!

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 5.34.04 PM

Many other sites are suggested that outline similar information for teachers. They all have the same goal of providing teachers with the materials that they need in order to choose the best technology for their classroom.

Don’t waste your time through trial and error, Let these resources help you in your decision making process!

4 thoughts on “Trouble Choosing the Best Technology Tool for your Classroom?

  1. I absolutely agree. There are SO many tools out there and it is extremely overwhelming trying to find the “best option”. I found that during my internship I spent more time looking online then I did planning! By the end I was just using the hard copy of textbooks and a few key sites I found to do my planning – less stress, quicker, and JUST as effective!

    I am really glad I am not the only one that feels this way! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. The title of this post really caught my eye! Throughout internship I was so focused on finding the perfect technology tools that I often ended up spending more time searching for that than I did actually prepping my lessons. This looks like a great resource that has already done a lot of the work of finding neat tools to use. I look forward to using this in the classroom! Great post! 🙂

    Like

  3. You’ve shared some incredible resources in this post! I love the EdSurge Product Index. I agree that choosing technology can be a challenge, and found that during internship it would take me hours to find that certain activity or app that would help me enrich the learning experience I was providing. The product index makes being more time conscious seem a lot more achievable. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

